top of page

Diving into Food Photography Inexpensively


Lately, I've been trying my hand at some food photography and can I just say: "WOW!" What incredibly fun scenes to put together.

My husband and I made our way to Lowe's for some supplies. I was looking for something specific, kinda like a large slab of wood but not just any kind, something nicely paneled together, sorta rustic. I was planning on using it as a false table top for photographs specifically for the type of food photography pictures I wanted and I found the exact thing I was looking for there but there was one problem: it was the display piece and if I wanted to get the panels, I'd have to make an appointment to have an installer come into the house and blah blah blah. WELL- that's not what I intended on searching for so I ended up listening to my husband and sought out the laminate floor tiles.


These were the final three I chose to buy at Lowe's and they are such great quality and size, adding up to a whopping $6.31 in total.


There's black marble, white marble, and a rustic toned one with shades of grey blue and coppers.


When we got back home, I stared around the kitchen at items, props, bowls, glasses, etc, to see what I could put together and how quickly. It was pretty much just a trial on how well the tiles might look as a 'faux tabletop'. Before arriving back at the house, we had 2 other stops: The grocery store to pick up some photogenic fruits, blackberries being one of them. And Goodwill, where I looked for a few cute dishes that might fit perfectly for smaller displays and side dishes.







Going out to the front of my house, I cut off some small sections of the hedges we have placed in the front yard and setting our cutting board upright on the counter, I used the black tile to work a vibrant, cute, yet simple shot of the blackberries.



It didn't look like much at first but after I angled the camera closer in at got those crisp details, I was loving the outcome immediately.






I was so impressed by the way the end product looked just by a few touch-ups in Lightroom CC. The background gave me the impression I was staying in a log cabin in the mountains while it was early, colorful Fall surrounding my senses and I was able to get my hands on fresh, tart blackberries. This entire mini 30 minute shoot had me looking forward to more ways I will be able to integrate more cheap items into amazing scenic backdrops for sure.


https://kittykariizma.wixsite.com/freelanceart/food Check out my food album here if you're interested in more tasty pics~

9 views0 comments

תגובות


bottom of page